top of page
  • Writer's pictureTasha Norcliffe

Games Making their way to PlayStation in 2021/22 that I am looking forward to.

Updated: Jun 15, 2021

Since the release of the PlayStation 5, game releases have been looking a little slow. But isn’t that always the case when a brand-new console release? Besides some HUGE stock errors we did get a good selection of PS5 launch games this time round. Demon Souls, Godfall (let us not talk about all the glitches) Spider-Man Miles Morales the surprisingly enjoyable and well-made Astros Playroom along with Assassin’s Creed Valhalla and Sackboy: A Big Adventure. But before I begin to talk about games I have already completed and enjoyed so far on the PS5; I shall save that for a sperate blog post, lets talk about all the games I am looking forward too and hoping to see release this year!

 

First up: Kena and The Bridge Of Spirits: August 2021 release. This art style on this game looks beautiful. It is created by a small team over at EmberLab, you can find them on Instagram over at @emberlab and @rusushop where they keep updating us with beautiful concept art, in-game clips and screenshots straight from the PS5 capture. I am so excited to dive in and explore this magical world full of fantastical beast and fuzzy friends. I have included some photographs below from their digital press kit. Just look at the colour choices and world design! It all looks so enchanting and mythical which makes me eager to explore the game and find all of its hidden secrets and treasures.

You can only pre-order this game digitally at the moment but I am cheering them on and hoping a physical release becomes possible for this wonderful team and I am sure it is not just me crossing their fingers for an art book.

 

Secondly: God Of War Ragnarök release 2021 TBC. God of War on the PS4 was one of my favourite games to be released on that console. The graphics, the game design, the story, the music. I cannot applaud that game enough. If you have not played God Of War yet I HIGHLY recommend you go play it. Sony gave us a highly anticipated teaser at the end of their showcase in September 2020 of the next instalment to the God Of War series. Ragnarök will be the ninth instalment to the series chronologically and the sequel to the 2018 God Of War on the PS4. I myself cannot wait to dive back into Norse mythology and the beautiful landscapes of ancient Norway. The relationship between Kratos and his son is portrayed so powerfully. I have high hopes for this game, and I do feel it will quickly become one of my favourite PS5 releases. That is right. My prediction has already been made. What is not to love about Gods, dragons and huge boss fights? I hope they release more about this game soon and I will be sure to come back and add their digital press kit on here when it is released. Will you be grabbing this game on release? Let me know in the comments.

 

Thirdly: Horizon Forbidden West 2021 TBC. If you have played Horizon Zero Dawn, I am sure you too are looking forward to this sequel. I have been impatiently waiting for this sequel for quite some time. The Horizon series is an open-world action RPG where you play as the heroine Aloy who you will grow to love, support and want the best for. She is a brave machine hunter who is searching for knowledge throughout the story. I cannot believe HZD was released all the way back in 2017. I think it is safe to say that a sequel is long overdue. I cannot wait to see where they take us next, the original explored through several weather-based biomes which were each as beautiful as the other. I am hoping for new machines, new characters and new rural landscapes to explore from Forbidden West. From what they have announced so far, we can see that Forbidden West will follow Aloys story west to a far-future America. The press kit below shows us such an amazing insight to some of the new locations and machines that will encounter later this year. Horizon is developed by Guerrilla Games.

 

My fourth and fifth awaited games is Dungeons & Dragons: Dark Alliance and Back4Blood: These two games are both co-op games that will be releasing on to both PlayStation and Xbox. Dungeons releasing on June 22nd, 2021 being followed by Back4Blood being released later this year in October. The reason I have included these two games Is because I continue to stand by my belief that we do not get enough co-op releases on to consoles anymore. Me and my boyfriend enjoy to dual screen in the same household and play a co-op adventure together from time to time however game selection can be slim.


Dungeons and Dragons: Dark Alliance: I have never personally played a Dungeons and Dragons game however it reminds me of Warhammer Chaosbane which we LOVED. It is developed by Tuque Games and is going to be a third-person action role-playing game with dynamic co-op gameplay. The game is set to be based in the Forgotten Realms where frost giants and white dragons roam the land. Levelling up your character, defeating fantastical beasts with magic, sorcery or straight up combat BRUTE strength. What is not to love? I know that I myself find getting addicted to games where I am searching for better weapons, armour and loot, levelling up my character and skills as I go bundles of fun, so I am really looking forward to getting stuck in! You can also find this game for pre-order for around £30 on the PS5 which is such a great price point. and it is releasing in June 2021! SO we really do not have long to wait for this one.

 

Back4Blood another four-person co-op game upcoming later this year developed by Turtle Rock Studios. A thrilling first-person shooter that is created by the developers of the well-loved franchise ‘Left 4 Dead’. What is there to say other than if you enjoy co-op zombies then THIS will be the game for you.

Humanity’s extinction is on the line and it is up to you and your friends to fight back and basically save the world. You get to choose from 8 customizable, yes CUSTOMIZABLE; we love a little customization over here on this blog. I am hoping the game experience is great! Not much gameplay to currently speak about but I myself have pre-ordered this game to hopefully have a bunch of fun on with my boyfriend and family.

 

We are five games in, and I still have not mentioned Forspoken! So, game six...Forspoken. I was hoping for this game to be released later this year, but it is looking like a 2022 release. However, I feel this game will 100% be worth the wait. Forspoken was first announced last year as Project Anthia and from that moment on I was excited and highly interested into this game. Forspoken is a action RPG where you play as Frey Holland. (YES to getting another lead female solo character in a game) Frey is a young woman who must harness her magical abilities and bravery to survive what I can only describe from all the current trailers and clips to be a beautiful fantasy filled but dangerous world. From the current in-game content that they have revealed we can see that Frey can parkour the land with huge amounts of speed and fluidity, I can only imagine how satisfying that will feel when playing especially with the dual sense PS5 controller. I myself cannot wait to both explore this world and escape reality as I jump into playing as Frey and discovering her story. Here are some digital press photos they have been revealed to us so far. How beautiful does this game look? Created by Square Enix and the Luminous Productions team.

 

There are several more games I have my eye on for the PlayStation 5 like Hogwarts Legacy, Black Myth: Wukong new additions to the Diablo series and I am always hoping to hear news on the next chapter of Tomb Raider, I would love a sequel to Uncharted Lost Legacy, and we are getting an Indiana Jones GAME! But this is content for a whole other blog post. I hope you found at least one new game to be excited for and I would love to hear what games you are most looking forward to on PlayStation or Xbox in the comments below.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page