top of page
  • Writer's pictureTasha Norcliffe

Games I am looking forward to on the Nintendo Switch

The first game I want to take the time to mention is Coral Island from the wonderful little team over at @stairwaygames on Instagram. I have included a bunch of images on this post which are all from their digital press kit. You can find them all and more on their website which is stairwaygames.com/coral-island I am so excited for this game to land on to the Nintendo Switch! Coral Island is a re-imagined farm simulator game inspired by all our favourite farming classics such as Harvest Moon, Stardew Valley and ofcourse Animal Crossing. You will be growing crops, taking care of animals and ofcourse befriend and fall in love with all the wonderful characters around the island. This will be Stairways FIRST game release! How exciting but also amazing is that? I myself know that I cannot wait to build my dream farm, interact with the diverse cast of characters, save coral reefs and explore all the Island, caverns, community villages and gardens this game is going to have to offer. You can find all updates and information on the game here on their wesbite and socials.

 

The second game is from another small studio, Lemon Seed Studios. Blue Oak Bridge, a 2D digitally painted fantasy farming-simulator RPG. The lovely team over at Lemon Seed Studios were kind of enough to send me over a digital press pack which I shall share with you on the blog post and also you will soon be able to find lots of upcoming content around this game over on my Instagram. We already have so much concept art, sneak peaks of the diverse character cast, adorable farm animals and the cosy cabins which I cannot wait to end my day of farming in. What is not to love about this game so far? A beautiful rural valley to live, explore and farm amongst. General stores, animals, characters that are witches?! Overall, this game looks like it is going to fulfil all our farming needs as well as giving us interesting characters and a world that seems to be full of magical landscape goodness. Give them a follow over on their Instagram @blueoakbridge to support the studio and keep up with all their latest game updates!

 

Fields Of Mistria, if you have not heard of this game yet and you are a fan of games such as Stardew Valley, Story Of The Seasons, Rune Factory and Animal Crossing then trust me when I say you are going to fall in love with this game. You can find the creators on Instagram @fieldsofmistria or on their website at www.fieldsofmistria.com which is where I have grabbed a bunch of this digital press kit content, I am going to share with you below:

This game is an upcoming farming / life sim RPG which is in the early but exciting days of development. Their website tells us that Mistria is an ‘idyllic village tucked between lush forest and the sea’ It will offer a ‘homestead to any capable adventurer willing to help rebuild after an earthquake that causes widespread damage and strange new magic flows through the land.’ How exciting does a magical beautiful valley sound? It is giving me some major Littlewood vibes (which if you follow me on Instagram you will know I LOVE) This valley is all waiting our exploration, with a customizable character, 30+ villagers, foes to battle, treasures to find and a farm to revitalize I do feel that we will have plenty to dive into and quickly become addicted to. Also, can we just take a minute at the end of this post to point out how adorable and beautiful the choice of pixel art used throughout the game is. Lots of farming content to look forward to on the Switch.

 

This next game is a game I discovered whilst writing this blog post. I thought it would be perfect to mention as I love to support small game studios on my Instagram and blog. This game is called Bear and Breakfast. It is a laid-back management adventure game where you run a bed and breakfast, but YOU are the bear. It is set in a cosy wood flooding with tourists, so it is your job to decorate and design a bed and breakfast for all the visitors to enjoy. The reason this game stood out to me was the colours, art style and the adorable bear whose design I find both cute and amusing in all the best ways. I want to shout out that this game is being created by Gummy Cat, published by Armor Games Studios. You can find all their content and updates over at www.bear-game and the images below are from their press kit which you find here: https://presskits.armorgames.com/game/bear-and-breakfast/ This game is scheduled to release some time this year! I personally cannot wait to meet this bear!

 

I hope you have enjoyed the games I have spoken about so far, I really wanted to pick out some games that I feel so many of you may not have heard of before, but you equally should be excited for as the games I am about to mention next.


Breath Of The Wild Sequel, how do I even describe how excited I am for this game? I need to make a blog post dedicated to Breath Of The Wild. That game was the reason I wanted a Nintendo Switch in the first place. A huge open-world experience where you can truly lose yourself in the exploration and treasures it has to offer. I am sure I am not the only one who was extremely excited when Nintendo FINALLY teased the creation of the sequel. I hope we find out more soon, but I believe we can be quite confident in saying that the sequel will look amazing and be a wonderful game to play and explore. It will also help fulfil my Zelda merchandise addiction. I cannot wait to have more art books, amiibos and figures to collect. You can find photographs of my collections here on my website at the Instagram tab or you can find me directly on them @natashasgaming


Pokemon Legends: Arceus, Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl, Zenith, Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles and Pillars Of Eternity II: Deadfire are all games landing on the switch this year. Other than Pokemon Legends: Arceus which we are currently being told will be a 2022 release. We have so many games for the Nintendo to look forward too and I really hope that from this blog post you can add a couple of new and exciting releases to your watch lists and wish lists. I am sure there will be a part two soon talking more about the games I quickly mentioned above, and any new indie finds I discover in the meantime. Thank You for reading, I would love to hear the Nintendo games you are looking forward to this year below in the comments.

 




338 views0 comments
bottom of page